Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

"Father" Categories

edited November 2005 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hello, I'm new to Vanilla but I'm loving the experience so far. As I play around with it in an attempt to see if it would be good for an upcoming site I'm developing, I started to ask myself how hard it would be to create "father categories." Basically, the site I'm creating has a need for a couple hundred categories for sports TEAMS. While I know this might spread the community thin, it's really a necessary evil. The way I thought I might get around this would be to somehow hack Vanilla to assign some kind of father category to a post. So, while a post would be in the category "Soandso TEAM", it would be part of the father category "Soandso SPORT". This way, I could kind of dynamically create a larger discussion group (forum, category, whatever you'd like to call it) around the SPORT. Now, I'm fairly new so this might exist in some form already and I may have missed it but I figured I'd ask here in the chance that it is not. That being the case, how hard would it be to hack and slash this type of feature in? Thanks much!

Comments

• At present this is not possible. It could be, i'm sure, but it'd take quite a big extension i imagine. Would it not be easier to run seperate forums alongside each other?