Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Looking for a simple way to fetch a discussion

edited August 2010 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
I'm setting up vanilla for a small forum, and things are going well but there is one thing missing: I'd like to show the most recent discussion from a specific forum as a newspost on the frontpage of the site,

My problem is that I can't seem to find an easy-to-use API to fetch discussions/comments. I've been through the Discussioncontroller, but that code doesn't seem very re-usable, and the json-api app is kinda daunting since I've never used json before. :(

What would be the easiest way to do this in?
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    What about just connecting Vanilla's db and selecting:
    SELECT *, `GDN_Discussion`.`DiscussionID` AS ID FROM `GDN_Discussion` ORDER BY `GDN_Discussion`.`DateUpdated` DESC LIMIT 0, 1;
    to retreive a last updated discussion and selecting:
    SELECT * FROM `GDN_Comment` WHERE `GDN_Comment`.`DiscussionID` = ID ORDER BY `GDN_Comment`.`DateInserted` ASC;
    to retreive comments for the discussion, where ID is DiscussionID returned in the first select.
  • Options
    @klip Wouldn't that be DESC to grab the last comment if we're sorting by DateInserted (datetime)?

Also, you might want to use some kind of a database abstraction layer behind your SQL command to protect yourself against injection. If you're using any kind of CMS, you should use its built in methods for accessing the database.
  • Options
    My plan was to keep it as integrated with Vanilla and use the CustomPages plugin for this..

On a side not, I've now gotten progress with simply copying the discussionscontroller+views and making a "blogcontroller", but it's all very hackish and unmaintainable, I need a better solution.. :/