Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How to enable categories in mobile theme?

Hi,

I am a Vanilla forum rookie. I set up a Vanilla forum a few days ago. The main users of this forum will be accessing it through iPhone. My problem is that though the web version shows categories , the mobile version does not.

I have looked through the admin dashboard to turn on the categories for the mobile theme. But I was unable to do so.

Can anyone point me into to the settings where one can turn this on? Or do I have to dive into Vanilla Forum code to achieve this? If not through settings is this achievable via custom theme or do I have to change mobile controllers or something?

Please advice.

Thanks and Regards,
Pritam.
Tagged:

Comments

• oliverraduneroliverraduner Contributing to Vanilla since 2010 Switzerland ✭✭
    Well, I just discovered that my Plugin - if you change the value "'MobileFriendly" to "TRUE" - will put all your Categories into the Menu of the Mobile theme ;-)

Not really useful, not even speaking of "beautiful", but it's probably a start for you to figure out yourself how to enhance the Mobile theme.

Cheers,
    Oliver
  • Hi Oliver,

Thanks for the answer. I appreciate it. I will look into it and see if it solves my problems.

Regards,

Pritam.
  • phreakphreak Vanilla*APP (White Label) & Vanilla*Skins Shop MVP

@oliverraduner: What plugin are you speaking about, can't find yours in the addon section. I'd like to activate categories for the mobile version.

Anyone else can tipp me to the right syntax for adding categories to the mobile theme?

{categories} ?

• VanillaAPP | iOS & Android App for Vanilla - White label app for Vanilla Forums OS
    • VanillaSkins | Plugins, Themes, Graphics and Custom Development for Vanilla