Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Hate to say it but i am thinking about jumping ship to vbulletin - stop me

HortonHorton New
edited February 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
I have been with Vanilla since May 2007. My site had 2 million page view last year and is only growing. It is a hobby that makes me more than 20% of personal income.

I like Vanilla. I like Open Source. I think Mark’s road to success is super cool. I am a fan.

The downside is that I am not a programmer so I am screwed if I get in over my head.There really is not a clear support model. Maybe that changed with V2… I love what I have seen in V2 but every time I install I find bugs and Bonks. I want V2 but I need to know it is going to work. I would go with Vanilla professional but they want $600 to install. I can do the install. I got myself this far….

I am taking a long hard look at vBulletin. Talk me out of it. Tell me why I should hang with Vanilla.

Comments

• ShadowdareShadowdare r_j MVP
    edited February 2011
    Well, I could help you install it for way cheaper because I do web consulting as a past time. The main reason Vanilla is offering their services is for main big businesses who want their support for Vanilla directly from the team instead of some third party support.

Vanilla will be big in forum software in my opinion. Indeed, the mission statement is pretty awesome and the freedom of open source here is a little more outstanding than other forum software.

The Vanilla team has succeeded in staying up to date with things like social media connections, a profile activity wall, and things like that by focusing more on SEO magic, customized tools, and a fluid user experience.