Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Can you change Question & Answer to Discussion & Reply?

gsbgsb
edited February 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
Title says it all, can you change Question & Answer to Discussion & Reply? If so, how? I'm not a coder...

Comments

• The default vanilla forum (downloadable) is Discussion & Comment.

Otherwise, it's a question of creating a "locale" file, same thing as translation except that you're just "translating" in the same language.
  • I'm so sorry, but can you explain more-so what that means? I did download and install Vanilla on my own hosted site.
  • If you have installed it on your own, it should have discussion & comments already.
    Except if you have installed the "Voting" plugin.
  • Ah! That's it! I installed the "Voting" plugin! Thank you!
  • gsbgsb
    edited February 2011
    One last question in the same vein, how can I change "Announcement" to "Sticky"?
  • If you still want the voting plugin and that it doesn't change the label, maybe you could just remove the en-CA.php (or something like that) from the locale directory in the plugin directory.
    I haven't tried, so I don't know if the plugin will stil work OK or not afterwards (because it may try to read that file anyway), maybe a safer option would be to empty the file, or comment everything in it.
  • One last question in the same vein, how can I change "Announcement" to "Sticky"?
    Check out the way the locale file is done.
    Or read: http://vanillaforums.org/docs/localization
  • ShadowdareShadowdare r_j MVP
    edited February 2011
    The only place I've found the Questions text is on the viewing a tag page. It says "questions tagged with 'the tag'."