Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Add required fields to signup

edited January 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hi! I'm putting together a forum for a client, and they need to add 5 or 6 fields that will be required (zipcode, city, state, etc). I added them to the user database, and found all the files I need to edit in /entry. However, I would like to make this into a plugin so I don't have to worry about all my changes being overwritten when upgrading.

I am new to Vanilla and am having trouble wrapping my head around it. How do I override the UserModel to add new fields when inserting and validating? Should I just copy the usermodel code into a new model in my plugin somehow? I thought maybe just copying the entire entry folder into a plugin would be the way to go, but then I'm not sure how to create a different URL (something like mysite.com/signup). Is this the write way to go? I have no idea! Struggling for a week or two with this. Any help is appreciated!

PS: this is for Vanilla 2.

Tagged:

Best Answers

• hbfhbf wiki guy? MVP
    edited January 2012 Answer ✓

i would think about it in one of two ways:

1. you can force the validation and user entry of this data into the native signup form
      or
    2. upon completion of the native signup form you can trigger a second form with it's own validation rules.

option 1 is going to probably rely on adding hooks to the signup process that might not exist right now... so you run the risk of having upgrade path problems.

option 2 is going to be less "integrated" as the user will have to go through two screens before completing the signup process. But this is likely to be based on out of the box hooks, and will make upgrades much easier.