Fork me on GitHub
Current release is 2.1.6 (21 Nov 2014).

Users who have not yet upgraded to 2.1 should get security release 2.0.18.14 (1 Nov 2014). We will stop providing these security releases to 2.0 at the end of this year.

Optimizing full wordpress comment integration (comment order, auto truncate, double embed)

edited May 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 Help

The background: I am setting up a vanilla discussions page where users can obviously create their own discussions. I am also using the vanilla forums wordpress plugin to integrate comments. I am doing this on a page I have been running for a few months and already has a fair amount of content in the form of blog posts.

(1) When I view an existing blog post for the first time since comment integration was turned on, it creates a new discussion for it on the discussions page. It then shows the same comments within that discussion on both the blog post and the discussion page. This is excellent. However, on the discussion page, replies are displayed with oldest first, and on the blog post replies are displayed with newest first. I would like them both to be oldest first -- is there a way to customize this?

(2) On the discussion page that is automatically generated by viewing a new post, Vanilla displays either the first paragraph or the first 400 characters (whichever is shorter) of the content of the blog post. Is there a way to default to displaying the entire blog post?

(3) On the same page, it displays a thumbnail of my blog's .png header image. This is unnecessary and I would like to remove it. Can I?