Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID Sign In with Twitter

In this Discussion

Vanilla forums and websense?

zaneperryzaneperry newb
edited June 2012 in Questions

I just created a new site 2 days ago using Vanilla Forums. I have 2 users saying they are receiving the following errors

"This Websense category is filtered: Potentially Damaging Content. Sites in this category may pose a security threat to network resources or private information, and are blocked by your organization."

I see someone else had a similar problem

http://vanillaforums.org/discussion/4448/vanilla-forums-and-websense

Best Answer

  • ToddTodd Chief Product Officer vanilla
    Answer ✓

    That other problem is from 2006.

    We don't do anything specifically to anger websense so it's going to be your content or maybe your hosting location. Maybe you should ask on the websense forums since it's them that's doing the filtering.

    Thanks websense!

Answers

  • Todd said: That other problem is from 2006.

    We don't do anything specifically to anger websense so it's going to be your content or maybe your hosting location. Maybe you should ask on the websense forums since it's them that's doing the filtering.

    Thanks websense!

    So my site is http://www.terpforum.com hosted on bluehost.

    I asked the 2 users who are blocked by Websense to test the following links.

    http://www.zpwebdevelopment <- another site that I have on the same bluehost account (e.g. same IP). Worked fine.

    The only other think I could think of is the domain name. So I had them test a bunch of domain names with the word forum and terp. No issues there.

    I checked internet archive to see if a previous domain owner hosted a site. No previous domain name owners were found.

    I am out of idea's. I registered with websense forum but they won't let you post. I sent an email two days ago but still have not received a response.

    What a pain.

  • I called and was forwarded to the email address suggest@websense.com . I was told to include details and IP address of whatever was blacklisted. The nice woman said that it may take a while but that someone would get back to me. Knock on wood!

  • x00x00 Don't PM about development, I'm not currently taking on clients MVP

    creepware;)

    Don't PM about development, I'm not currently taking on clients.

    grep is your friend.

  • ToddTodd Chief Product Officer vanilla

    I can't see anything wrong with your site. Maybe they are confused by your GIANT background image? I don't recommend making your visitors sit through a 750K background image when they visit your site. Perhaps you can incorporate it into a smaller banner instead?

    Sheila
  • I guess I should resize that one eh ;)

Sign In or Register to comment.