Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Forum Suddenly Down... Help!

Hello All,

I am a programmer, but of C++ not php and the like. And I need some help (or at least an opinion.)

Suddenly today my forum at http://troikatronix.com/troikatronixforum went down. The forum is embedded in a WordPress site. I am the administrator of everything, so unless my host company went in and did something without asking (highly unlikely) then I can only assume some kind of very strange bug or that I've been hacked.

I had not made any major changes for about 3 days. (The last thing I did was add a WordPress plugin, "Exclude Pages from Navigation" -- but this worked as advertised and showed no ill effects. Deactivating the plugin doesn't help in any case.)

But now, when clicking on a forum discussion, it sends me off to our 404 Not Found page. And other users cannot log in, because the sign in dialog ends up with a 404 as well.

Trying to get to the dashboard also results in a 404, so I can't even access stuff to try to do something.

What's really weird is that, when sitting on a the main forum page, I've seen some "auto-updates" happen -- where weird stuff (like the search box) appears scattered on the page. See the attached image.

I went to examine the site via FTP. The modification dates on all the files (WP and Vanilla) do not seem suspicious. The files that were updated today I downloaded and compared to a backup, and nothing seemed amiss. Also, the main TroikaTronix WordPress site seems totally fine.

So I'm just wondering what could be up here. If anyone has any advice to offer, I'd be really grateful.

Best Wishes,
Mark

Comments

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

When examining the files, did you look at .htaccess files?

What version of Vanilla are you running?