Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Spam influx makes me want to close my Vanilla forum

mattmatt ✭✭
edited August 2013 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I've been using Vanilla for 8 years now, but recent spam influx makes me want to close my Vanilla forum.

Help me, please.

Comments

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP
    edited August 2013

what methods have you tried ? Have you tried Restrict Registration Logger plugin ?

Ban applicant ? what version of V ?

• ToddTodd Chief Product Officer Vanilla Staff

I'll tell you what we do here.

1. Make sure you make users confirm their email addresses. Make sure the confirm email address role can't post anywhere.

2. Use stop forum spam. You can tweak the settings a bit, but the defaults are okay.

3. Use akismet.

We do have a bit better of a spam workflow in 2.1 which is right around the corner. In order to help combat spam we also appreciate a bit more detail.

Where is the spam? Are there spam registrations? Is the activity feed being spammed? Is it new discussions? Stuff like this.

• phreakphreak Vanilla*APP (White Label) & Vanilla*Skins Shop MVP

I experience. Spam registrations. Activity wall spamming and recently also bots that create discussions, holding a short line of text and a link.

• VanillaAPP | iOS & Android App for Vanilla - White label app for Vanilla Forums OS
    • VanillaSkins | Plugins, Themes, Graphics and Custom Development for Vanilla
  • Although there can be weaknesses in some systems, I don't think the software itself should be reason enough to leave. You also have to use common sense, make sure that part of the forum that are open to spam, like keeping profiles private, and activity closed.

You can also make it less fruitful, such as restricting links for newcomers.