HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Introducing the Yaga application

hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Yet Another Gamification Application has its first public release available in the addons repository. Yaga aims to be an easy to use, extendable, localized gamification addon for Vanilla 2.1+. Yaga provides reactions, achievements, and level progression.

I have been using it for the past 2 months on my community site with few issues. I would like to get some broader feedback on the design and implementation. I have a bunch of planned features, but I really need to get this out in the open.

I tried my hardest to re-use existing code, classes and functions where possible. Pull requests and bug reports are welcome at: https://github.com/hgtonight/Application-Yaga

I hope you will try it and let me know what you think.

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.

Click on insightful, awesome, and funny reactions to thank community volunteers for their valuable posts.

Comments

• Options

The following is the short FAQ I wrote to my community

The application is called Yaga (Yet Another Gamification Application) and aims to offer more ways to interact with user generated content while rewarding positive participation.

What are these little icons below some posts?

These little guys are called reactions. Clicking on them records how you feel about a specific post. We keep track of all these reactions and award points to content with positive reactions. If you want to remove your reaction for whatever reason, just click it to remove it.

What is this promote reaction, and why don't I see it?

Yaga fully supports permission based reactions. This means that mods and admins have a different set of reactions available to them. Don't fret, these extra reactions will be earned by leveling up your rank.