Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Newbie Questions for Vanilla Forums

edited March 2014 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hello everyone,

I am an experienced developer but come here with very little experience using Vanilla Forums.

We've been testing Vanilla Forums out recently and have come to love what we're seeing here!

We'd like to begin building our support forums around Vanilla Forums.

I do have a few questions (sorry if they're already asked but some I didn't find and rather not re-invent the wheel if possible).

1.) Is the responsive theme Vanilla Forum Community uses available for download or purchase?

2.) I'm trying to determine the best approach for creating new "Discussion Status" tags (aka status').

For example, we can currently close a discussion and it's marked as "Closed" and is locked.

Nifty feature built in obviously for closing a discussion, but I'd like to do more with this.

Is there already an existing walk-through / tutorial, plugin, or etc., available that would explain how to achieve this?

Basically, I'm looking to create "Open, In Review, On Hold, Closed" and similar status tags.

Not afraid to get my hands dirty, but wanted to see if there's some direction out there already.

3.) Any good recommendations for someone serious about learning more about Vanilla Forums?

I come from a strong background of WordPress framework development, PHP, databases, frontend and open source.

Looking forward to any pointers or responses. Have a great day!

With respect,
Bryce, OWM.

Best Answers

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin
    Answer ✓

1.) Nope, it is not.