Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Some categories seen on desktop theme, but not on mobile?

tom762tom762 New
edited July 2014 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I have a weird problem.

On my forum I have a few categories that are hidden to guest users. My forum users notified me they can't view these categories on mobile phone using the default mobile theme. BUT, if you request desktop version of the site, these categories are displayed normally?!

The problem is happening for all user roles except administrator. As an administrator I can see all categories fine anywhere.

When on Vanilla 2.0.18.8, everything worked ok, but few days ago I upgraded vanilla to v. 2.1 and it started acting strange. I didn't touch permissions.

Please help me out, I don't have enough knowledge to fix this myself.

Best Answers

• Options
    peregrineperegrine MVP
    Answer ✓

not sure what to tell you

if you still have problem,

disable all plugins and
    make custom categories viewable to the roles you want.

and see if you have issue.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• Options
    peregrineperegrine MVP
    Answer ✓

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• Options
    peregrineperegrine MVP
    Answer ✓

and you made need to add this as well to the plugin

'MobileFriendly' =>TRUE,

below 'HasLocale' => TRUE,

in class.excludecategories.plugin.php

Answers

• Options
    peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited July 2014

did you delete

Delete the files /themes/mobile/views/discussions/helper_functions.php
     AND /applications/dashboard/views/default.master.php