Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

How can I hide a members IP Address from moderators?

I'm new to vanilla and I was wondering if this was possible, thanks!

Comments

• Options
    peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited July 2014

ip address is controlled by garden moderation manage in vanilla 2.1 if that box is checked for a role it is viewable, at least in comments, and probably elsewhere as well.

other wise you would need to write a plugin or modify core,

in vanilla 2.1

https://github.com/vanilla/vanilla/blob/2.1/applications/vanilla/views/discussion/helper_functions.php#L131

it has different permissions in dependent on version of vanilla.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• Options
    edited July 2014

@peregrine said:
    ip address is controlled by garden moderation manage. if that box is checked for a role it is viewable, at least in comments, and probably elsewhere as well.

Is it possible to keep the garden moderation manage option checked but at the same time remove disable viewing the ip address?

• Options
    peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited July 2014

edwardthegreat said:

Is it possible to keep the garden moderation manage option checked but at the same time remove disable viewing the ip address?

yes,

1 depending on the version of vanilla. permissions are different and it is not controlled by garden.moderation manage in some versions of vanilla.

or

2 modify via plugin or

3 via core file change (not recommended to change core)

it would need to be changed on profile page and comments and a few other places.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.