Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Discussion viewable only by certain group members

Hi guys,

I downloaded the groups and membership plugins and would like to extend their functionalty by creating a new plugin. The requirement is that when a moderator opens a new discussion, he should have a option (e.g. a drop down list) where he can select a certain group (which already have been created by the groups plugin). And after that this discussion should only be visible for the selected group. I know that this could also been solved by creating a new categorys and open a new discussion in that category where only the group (role) members have access. But this is not the purpose.

Because I'm not very experienced with vanilla plugin development, could someone help me with some input how I can solve this?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Tagged:

Best Answers

• Options
    R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin
    Answer ✓

Could you please try that:

@R_J said:

$Sender->SQL->Join(
        'UserGroup ug', 'ug.GroupID = d.DiscussionGroupID AND ug.UserID = '.Gdn::Session->UserID.' OR d.DiscussionGroupID = 0'
        , 'right outer'
    );

I think it must be a right outer join and you should include all DiscussionGroupID = 0 discussions (if they should not adhere to any restrictions)

Answers

• Options

Take a look at some plugins and the tutorial to get started. In order to create such a group discussion, you'll have to have the permission to do that. Simply include something like 'RegisterPermissions' => array('Plugins.YourPluginName.Add'), to your plugin. Later on, when showing the "New Discussion" form, you can test for that permission like that:

If (!$Session->CheckPermission('Plugins.YourPluginName.Add')) {
        return;
    }