Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

MeModule help

I'm a new Vanilla user, and I was just trying to customise it.

I like the idea of the 4 buttons and I'd like to keep that, maybe I'll stick it right up the top like on facebook. It is referred to in my template as 'MeModule', though I cannot find anything called MeModule in the plugins.

I have one huge problem with this MeModule thing, and that is clicking elsewhere on the page doesn't close the menu. I can't... why is it like that..!

If there is a commonly known solution for this I would love to know, otherwise perhaps help me devise a sensible strategy for overriding this behaviour? I am a javascript and php developer, but I know messing around with core files can be a problem in these kinds of systems when it comes to upgrades.

If it was an actual module I figure I could disable it, and make a copy of it and enable the copy instead (which I would modify).

Comments

• hey.... on this site it closes when I click elsewhere! Can anyone shed some light on why I am experiencing something different?

• Also the popup menu goes to the right, how can I make it go to the left? I want the buttons over the right side.

• nevermind about the left side thing, that was an easy css override

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Welcome to the community!

It should close the menu when clicking anywhere outside the menu. Are you having this same issue with the cog wheel for discussions/comments?

I would check your console for errors. I am guessing you are running a plugin that is preventing clicks from propagating up the DOM tree.

You can override any module pretty easily with a plugin, theme, or themehook. I don't think that is the proper solution here, but I might be wrong.

Search first