Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Seeking programmer to help update forum to 2.1.x

Hello everyone,

I'm not technically inclined enough where I feel confident in upgrading my website from 2.0.18.8 to 2.1.x, including all the things that need doing - from "upgrading the database", to "reformatting the theme" so that it all looks just as nice as it currently does. We have a vast database and a great thing going, and don't want to imperil that by being all thumbs with a computer.

(1) Are there any programmers out there who would be willing to help out?
(2) What would be the cost of such work?
(3) Would they be willing to become an adjunct member of our forum to help out with further upgrades and troubleshooting?

I'm mainly just looking for information so that I, along with my forum staff, can make the best decision possible.

Thank you all very much for your time, responses, and any advice you might have. I may have just registered here today, but I've been following your conversations and help chats for a long time, and it's been of tremendous benefit.

• Matt
    CrisisForums.org

Comments

• JasonBarnabeJasonBarnabe Cynical Salamander ✭✭

The upgrade shouldn't be too much of a problem database-wise; obviously lots of people have done it successfully. Having a custom theme would likely be your major issue.

What I would recommend is that you do a dry run on a development box to see what happens. Maybe everything will be fine.

• You got a Good forum there , Very interesting.

• whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP
    edited November 2014

@‌MrCanadian

Welcome to the community.

As Jason suggests, the process is normally very straightforward.