Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How to change the welcome message "Howdy, Stranger"?

I really like your Pure theme. It looks very professional.
However, I am new to Vanilla and needs help on changing the welcome message "Howdy, Stranger".

Can you show me how to edit it.

Thanking you in advanced.

Comments

• Search the forum.

grep is your friend.

• rsaepulohrsaepuloh New
    edited November 2014

I have searched in the forum, but nothing really helps or maybe I have not found the right answer.
    I will keep looking. Can anybody give a quick reference?

• whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP

@rsaepuloh‌ Welcome to the community.

A search for 'Howdy Stranger' provides a number of results that would help you.

If you have changed your forum language, go to the Dashboard and find Locales under Addons

After clicking on Locales, make sure your Default Locale is en-CA.

You may have to press Save twice to get it to take.

• rsaepulohrsaepuloh New
    edited November 2014

Hi @whu606 and @R_J thank you for the response.

I think I found the place to edit the definition here: /home/language/public_html/forum/applications/dashboard/modules/class.guestmodule.php

But this is the only thing I see (I did not see the "howdy, Stranger"
    Can I just edit and save the code below?

/**
    * Renders the "You should register or sign in" panel box.
    */
    class GuestModule extends Gdn_Module {

public $MessageCode = 'GuestModule.Message';
    public $MessageDefault = "It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!";

public function __construct($Sender = '', $ApplicationFolder = FALSE) {
    if (!$ApplicationFolder)
    $ApplicationFolder = 'Dashboard';