Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Access Custom Profile Fields (Profile Extender Fields) from Plugin

Hello All,

I have successfully deployed my Vanilla Forum (www.tadconnect.com/forums) and am now trying to get into customising it a little!

Thanks to all the great discussions and helpful members, I have not really had to post any of my problems, and a simple search got me solutions.

I am a hobbyist programmer and know some PHP so I am trying to write a simple plugin to pull a custom field (using profile extender plugin) from my users profile and display it against the username in each discussion/comment. However I am still struggling to properly understand the Garden framework so I am not sure exactly where to look.

Using Eventi, I have found the appropriate hook and have the following code. I am able to show the standard profile fields using the Author object, but I do not know how to access the custom fields. I have tried reading the sourcecode of Profile Extender but I'm not getting it.

This is what I have so far. Can anybody guide me further? If you can point me in the right direction I am happy to study that material. Thank you!

class ShowUserMetaPlugin extends Gdn_Plugin {

public function DiscussionController_AuthorInfo_Handler($Sender) {

// Get the Author object
    $Author = GetValue('Author', $Sender->EventArguments);
    echo "($Author->Email)";
    //print_r($Author);
}

}

Tagged:

Comments

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

Use The Source, young Jedi ;)

By the way: I've once read an article about why you should prefer var_dump over print_r. It was something about the info about the variable type, I think.
    The function decho is Vanillas way of using var_dump. Try this two use cases:
    decho('Only visible by admins - very handy!');