Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

How secure is the cookie handling? Is "Keep me signed in" safe?

I am an admin on a 2.1.10 forum (soon to be 2.1.11), and we had a user report a security vulnerability on the site, and I wanted to see how valid it is.

They claim that because the cookies don't expire with the browser session, that it's possible for someone to steal those cookies and use them to login to the forum and steal the account.

Is there any validity to this claim? Would removing the "Keep me signed in" option fix it?

Comments

• Options
    LincLinc Detroit Admin

I don't believe that to be a valid concern, no. That would make the entire Internet insecure.

• Options
    whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP

Look at the content of your cookie from this site.

How would you retrieve your user details from that?

• Options

Cookies are sandboxed, and it entirely up to the client when to expire them or not or to accept them in the first place. You can only send guidelines.

Cookie stealing or session hijack generally doesn't work this way. If someone is in a position to attack the client program, and browse the file system they can already control the computer, this cookie stealing is the least of your worries.

If someone already has malware on their computer it can piggyback the browser sessions, but that is nothing to do with the security of the framework, but to do with their own home security practices.

If someone is in a public place, then obviously with the same browser data they could access the site. This is not how internet cafes, or public libraries operate their services. They have fresh computer sessions, which are separate, so everything including the browser data would be separate.