Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Log full of PHP Parse error: .../library/core/class.pluginmanager.php(863)

rbrahmsonrbrahmson "You may say I'm a dreamer / But I'm not the only one"NY ✭✭✭

I'm on Vanilla 2.1.11.
The log if full of these lines:

[09-Jul-2015 16:03:51 UTC] PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ';', expecting ']' in /xxxxxx.com/tryvanilla/library/core/class.pluginmanager.php(863) : eval()'d code on line 25

I went to the source of class.pluginmanager.php line 863 and I see the following:

862      if ($PluginInfoString != '')
863           eval($PluginInfoString);

Not being a programmer I went to the PHP online manual and it taught me that the error is actually in the $PluginInfoString.
I have a guess that this means that the error is in one of the many plugins I have (in line25 of one of them???).

I have no idea what's wrong and how to proceed. Dumping $PluginInfoString produces endless number of lines and still doesn't tell me which plugin is bad.

The powers who tasked me with evaluating Vanilla have security and information confidentiality concerns, so I need to clear this out.
I'd appreciate any help, directions that a non-programmer mortal can try;-)

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• x00x00 MVP
    edited July 2015

debugging eval is by its nature tricky. One way to find out is to tail the logs and disable plugin then make a request repeat till the log not longer add that error.

The way pluign info is collected and parsed is by its nature a bit unconventional anyway.

if you don't understand php you are not going to understand syntax errors, let a lone syntax error as a result of this unconventional way of parsing code.

If you did output the "PluginInfoString"s I could probably spot it.

grep is your friend.