Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

What are my embedding options?

JessiJessi New
edited August 2015 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hi,

I'm new to the software and liked it so much I decided to use it. I do have a few questions though.

I've installed vanilla 2.2 on my site to use mainly as a sharing forum for my friends/family so it's direct and I don't have to use facebook. My questions are

What are my embedding options for the forums? It's mainly images of family but sometimes I try to post a gif or webm and don't know how to embed it properly. I believe it's because the comments do not support advanced html, because I've already edited my .htaccess file to support webm. I've read the forums enough to know that gif just doesn't work with this software if uploaded so I have to upload it to an off site server then redirected the embedment. Advanced editor seems to disable ImageUpload.

Also, most of my family uses mobile, are there any alternatives to ImageUpload plugin? I love the fact that it uploads and automatically inserts the image into the post, and how clean the forums look from the software, but I'd just like to know if there's any alternatives to automatically inserting an uploaded image into the new post.

Finally, if there is no other alternatives, could you recommend a tutorial site so I may learn the basics of PHP and CSS and possibly write a plugin of my own?

Thank you for reading and thanks to all the hard work the developers put in.

Comments

• Options
    vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP
    edited August 2015

Hi, 2.2 is not for use by the public since it is in beta stage. It was released for developers. The recommended version is 2.1.11.

There are several file upload plugins just search the add ons.