HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Embedding HTML5 video and Streamable

Hi,

So HTML5 is all the rage nowadays and instead of .GIF files, more people are using HTML5 and .WEBM files.

To my knowledge, there is no add-on available on the main website which allows one to embed HTML5 directly into a post.

For example, I have this Gfycat HTML5 link: http://www.gfycat.com/QuarterlyThunderousAustralianshelduck

As an HTML5 file, it is 9 MB in size. As a .GIF, it is 22 MB in size. A huge difference in both size and quality.

QUALITY AS A GIF

QUALITY AS A GFY

Am I missing something? Because I do admit, I am not an expert on the Vanilla Forum structure -- and if anyone can direct me to an add-on or plug-in or post which can help me, it would be extremely appreciated.

Cheers

Comments

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP

To embed html5 video you would use the <video> tag.

I made a plugin a while back which seemed to work to be able to use html5 tags to embed audio and video but the issue is the Htmlawed plugin and the embed restrictions within this software to protect from malicious tampering via embedding objects regardless of the means. :(

You should be able to embed any youtube video or such by using the link to the page of the video and pasting it into the editor.

However you can probably create a plugin that allows for this.

• @vrijvlinder said:
    To embed html5 video you would use the <video> tag.

I made a plugin a while back which seemed to work to be able to use html5 tags to embed audio and video but the issue is the Htmlawed plugin and the embed restrictions within this software to protect from malicious tampering via embedding objects regardless of the means. :(

You should be able to embed any youtube video or such by using the link to the page of the video and pasting it into the editor.