Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Latest Discussions Prime

PolPol
edited February 2009 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Latest Discussions Prime extension

Hi. I'm new to Vanilla, and I've been experimenting with customizing my installation. I wanted to install the Latest Discussions extension, but I noticed that it wasn't generating friendly URLs (which I had enabled -- I am an aesthetics/consistency freak :D), so I took a look at the code, and found that it was quite poorly written indeed. It was actually making its own MySQL connection, querying for a list of topics, and manually generating links to comments.php. (Plus the code had no indentation and almost no spaces, so it was very hard to read.) Latest Discussions Prime is my attempt at rewriting it to better use Vanilla's API. (It also extends the original functionality slightly, by displaying the time since the last comment in each discussion.)

In this version, the number of discussions listed is hardcoded (10). It's easy to change if you look at the source, but if I revise this extension, I'll probably add that as a user preference.

If anyone has any comments about the functionality or especially about my code (since this is my first extension), I'd appreciate it!

Comments

• Options
    I think you'll find the no indentation and spaces thing is possibly to do with your text editor - if i open any extensions i download in notepad it's impossible to read and i have to switch to wordpad which is fine. It's not nice to bash other peoples code but bravo for doing something about it :)
  • Options
    I didn't mean to bash, I'm just a bit obsessed with certain aesthetic standards. And consistency and abstraction. So I was really just doing this for myself. :)