Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Programming languages

edited February 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hey guys. I am loving this and I want to get more involved. What programming languages do you suggest? I have been doing linux for 2 years, and am loving it too! I know my way around the prompt pretty well, and I have written some simple scipts for backup and whatnot with the shell.
1. I want to do some more heavy duty things like make vanilla extensions,
2. manage my Mysql database,
3. and know more programming for just system administration.
I already see that PHP and Mysql are biggies, so I just ordered a couple books for them. I don't want to get into a big Perl v.s. Python debate - enough of that on the internet, but now I see that PHP CLI can do scripting stuff too, so should I just dive into PHP or what? I know just a tiny bit of HTML, but, is that enough to start learning PHP?
I am open to any thoughts here so please, with my background and interests, what languages would you suggest?
Thanks

Comments

• Options