Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

how do i change the name of the folder my forum is?

edited February 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
how do i change the name of the folder my forum is without messing up the forum? i have done this b4 changing discussions to community but it gave me some error i don't remmeber what but does anyone know what i have to do or what files i have to edit to change my folder from discussions to community? thank you in advance

Comments

• Options
    hi- im very new to vanilla..but i needed to change my folder that was holding forum so idid this: i duplicated ( on my server ) my forum folder /test/ /test_copy/ then named test_copy to the new name.. then i opened the settings.php file, in the new folder and changed all instances of the old address to the forum, to the new one ( i did it using bbedit-much faster) then i logged into my original forum , clicked on settings, clicked on application settings, and changed the following, to new folder address:( found at bottom ): Web-path to Vanilla Cookie domain Cookie path and saved.. then logged into my forum via new address.. and all systems seems to be woking perfect..... hope this helps
  • Options
    once in new forum, had to also go to settings, and page settigs and change the urls for tabs in each page.
  • Options
    oh i see thanks that helps umm so you did not loose members or anything?
  • Options
    tannerctannerc
    edited February 2008
    no- ity appears everything went over without a hitch- i sent an email to all users ( we r in beta mode so not many yet) and put up an announcment with the new address.let me know how it goes for you.
  • Options