Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Rules behind using this open source platform

edited April 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hope I don't get reamed for asking, but I'm fairly new to the open-source community. I'm part of a development team for a large non-profit organization in Canada who is currently building a community based health website and I have recommended that they use Get Vanilla for their discussion board. The programmer brought up the fact that any additions made to the code, paid for by this non-profit, MUST be given back to the community. For example, if they were to have a function developed that added a "flag as inappropriate" link to each forum entry, they would be required to submit that code back to the Get Vanilla community. Is that how things work? If so, I don't think it's a big deal, but the programmer (who is an independent contractor) is pushing for a proprietary forum software and seems to be trying to convince them to go that route. I just want them to have all the facts in front of them. Any help or advice would be much appreciated! I apologize in advance that this is not a code-related question but I couldn't find any contact info to reach someone directly.

Comments