Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Adding a new field to discussion form

edited July 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I'd like to develop a extension that will (1) add a new field to the original post of a discussion that (2) saves to the database and (3) can be called back into a variable.

To be more specific, I'd like the user to be able to list comma-separated numbers that will be passed into an array that will create a sparkline graph from a script.

I'm quite willing to read up on whatever documentation that I need to do so, but was hoping Minisweeper or another vet could give me some general advice to point me in the right direction. (I know PHP, but am a complete novice at Vanilla extension development.)

Comments

• Options
    edited June 2008
    OK, I hacked an old extension and I've now got a new text field appearing on the discussion posting page.

Next step: Process the field and add to database

Coming up: adding to comment page (currently commented out), but displaying the field only for post author.

Any ideas?

Code so far: