Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Integrate Vanilla with custom user system

edited December 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hello there. I'm completely new to Vanilla--this my first time using it. However, I'm fairly competent at programming PHP and MySQL.

I'm working on a website that needs a forum. I've created the website's user system entirely from scratch, so I'm faced with two choices: roll my own forum solution, thus ensuring integration; or attempt to integrate a pre-existing forum with the system. Both pose difficulties. I could code my own forum, but why make that much work for myself when there is something like Vanilla, which does exactly what I want--some place to hold discussions, something simple? On the other hand, I have no experience with using Vanilla, and in general I dislike trying to integrate external code into my projects. It usually gets messy. That being said, I am willing to try!

I read the WordPress integration document and followed its instructions in order to get Vanilla using my pre-existing users table, adding the columns that it did not already have that Vanilla needs. I also copied the authenticator class and edited it so that Vanilla will authenticate a user if he or she has the cookie my site uses for authentication. That's working fine.

I'm going to handle all user registration, sign in/sign out, preferences, and profile pages with the site's user management system. How could I best go about disabling this aspect of Vanilla--i.e., disabling registration and viewing a user's profile?

Edit: I've created an extension that removes the "Account" tab, and then I renamed account.php. Sound good?

Comments

• judgejjudgej
    edited November 2008