Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Need help with Multi-Roles...

edited March 2009 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I'd really appreciate some help...and I'm not a programmer. Here's what I'm striving to set up... I have installed and set up a Vanilla forum. It came with the "General" category and I've added 5 more categories where each one corresponds to a specific eBook I sell. It came with a "Member" role and I've added 5 more roles that correspond to the categories which correspond to a specific eBook. The idea is that if a person signs up, they become a "Member" who has access to the "General" category. Then, for each of my eBooks they've bought, I want to grant them the corresponding role which gives them access to the corresponding category. In other words, buy no eBooks, only see "General" category. Buy eBooks, see and get access to other categories. So, I added the "Multi-Role" extension that was at this link: http://webality.co.uk/vanilla/MultiRoles-2.0b2.zip I then logged in as Admin, turned the Multi-Role extension on, did a search on users which revealed my one "Test" member. I click that member's link and then click their "Change Role" link. I leave the main role as member and then clicked a couple of the other roles that correspond to purchased eBooks, added a "Change Role Note" and clicked "Change Role". Next, I log out as Admin and log back in as Test. Unfortunately, the only category that shows up in the Test account is still the "General" category. I don't see either of the two other roles / categories I selected for this user. Am I doing something wrong? Or, is there something wrong at the software level? Again, I really appreciate any help that anyone is gracious enough to give me.

Comments

• Options
    edited March 2009