Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Mybb to Vanilla

Impossible or not? I'm not good at converting databases as I usually end up failing every time. But, I want to know how hard it would be. I just want basically the user table converted. I don't care that much about the posts or stats. After I post this I'm going to look at the SQL to see how similar the database layout is if at all similar.

Comments

• does anyone know? :)
  • Would really be interested to convert an existing mybb forum to the new Vanilla. So, bumping this in hopes someone with knowledge in that sort of thing could bring this to life.
  • My Forum used to be MyBB and I converted it to Vanilla don't think it would be to hard for someone to release a plugin/script for this
  • @Snook_ I'd like to know more, if you could.

Forum conversion plugins are essential, especially if Vanilla is to become popular.

Plus I am cooking up another plugin Idea that this would be useful for...
  • Okay, I'll write out how I did it/plugin wise and send it over for you to look at :)
  • Testing myBB conversion now :)
  • MarkMark Vanilla Staff
    FYI - @Todd wrote the Vanilla importer/exporter. So far he's written exporters for vBulletin and phpBB. You should be @mentioning him to see what it takes to get a myBB exporter going :D
  • ToddTodd Chief Product Officer Vanilla Staff
    The hardest part of forum conversion is getting the password hash to work. Right now we put the different password hashing algorithms in the core.

@Snook_ are you using Vanilla's exporter object?
  • @Todd Ya