Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Config File Hacked?

ShadowdareShadowdare r_j MVP
edited February 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
My config file was either hacked or there was some glitch with Vanilla. On my Vanilla config.php file all that it says now is:
<?php if (!defined('APPLICATION')) exit(); // Garden $Configuration['Garden']['Analytics']['LastSentDate'] = '20110127'; // Last edited by THEUSERNAME (his IP)2011-02-05 07:12:21

My Vanilla index only displays the installation page. Is this a bug with Vanilla or has it actually been hacked? I managed to get my forum back up though. Seems to be an urgent Vanilla problem, @Mark. If so, I wonder how it can be replicated.

I notice that when I edit a setting in the dashboard by being an admin myself, that it leaves a last edited by comment at the bottom of the config.php file. How can the user have did this and where did all the other variables go to?

The user said that he was submitting a post before this happened.

Add Pages to Vanilla with the Basic Pages app

Comments

• It is a really interesting problem, yes. Did you save the config file that was overwritten by THEUSERNAME? Maybe there's something you can see in there that he did.

Maybe it's also time to start discussing taking some config files outside the document root :-)

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• ShadowdareShadowdare r_j MVP
    edited February 2011
    Yes, I replaced his username with THEUSERNAME to indicate who he was. I think that the "// Last Edited" line is generated by Vanilla when a setting in the dashboard is modified by an admin. This user doesn't have access to that but it just happened when he was posting a reply. The config file is in the /conf folder. This whole problem is weird.