HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Problems translating the Activity page

TudorTudor
edited June 2011 in Localization
Presently, for some languages the Activity page cannot be correctly translated. I've been trying to translate Vanilla in Romanian and I have issues with:
- The verb conjugation.
- The genitive case.
- The definitive article.

I'm not a programmer so I don't know what could be done to solve those problems, but right now I'd be much, much happier if I could just translate entire sentences like this:

1) $Definition['%s commented on your discussion'] = '%s a comentat la discuția ta'; 2) $Definition['You started a discussion'] = 'Ai început o discuție'; (Notice how "discussion" is translated differently; and we don't use "you" at all in example #2.) 3) $Definition['%s started a discussion'] = '%s a început o discuție'; (A different translation for "started"; "he/she started" in #3 vs. "you started" in the example #2.) 4) $Definition['%s mentioned you in a discussion'] = '%s te-a menționat într-o discuție'; 5) $Definition['%1$s mentioned %2$s in a discussion'] = '%1$s a menționat pe %2$s într-o discuție'; ("Mentioned you" vs. "mentioned him/her": different translations for the verb "mentioned", according to the Romanian conjugation.) 6) $Definition['%1$s commented on %2$s\'s discussion'] = '%1$s a comentat la discuția lui %2$s'; (here I want to remove the English 's possessive and use the Romanian genitive case.)

Maybe a programmer could create a plugin to fix these things?
Tagged:

Comments

• ToddTodd Chief Product Officer Vanilla Staff
    I'm not sure either, but someone had put in features for Eastern European languages a while back. There are additional codes you can use:

%1$s = ActivityName
    %2$s = ActivityName Possessive
    %3$s = RegardingName
    %4$s = RegardingName Possessive
    %5$s = Link to RegardingName's Wall
    %6$s = his/her