Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Two Questions: I can't move categories and users cannot see all categories once signed on.

edited December 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hello, I am brand new to Vanilla and to these help forums. I am used to phpBB but am using Vanilla because I needed the facebook connect option. So far, I LOVE what I see! But...

When I went to the help section to figure out how to move my categories, it said something like you just drag and drop them. This does not work for me.

So, I gave up and decided ENOUGH ALREADY with all the categories! I created two categories so no re-organizing required, and it just makes more sense anyway. But I would like the option if I change my mind!

Also, I signed into my vanilla forums using my son's facebook account. This worked and I could see both of my categories at first, but then when I clicked on a discussion, I could not get back to the screen where both categories were listed. He was stuck on that one discussion. Weird.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Best Answer

Answers

• TimTim Operations Vanilla Staff

You're not giving us a lot to go on here. Specifically, if a client-side UI element is not working we are ALWAYS going to want to know your operating system and browser (with version).

As for the categories, you should be able to go into the dashboard and set your forum's Homepage style (under Appearance > Homepage). This defines how the top level page of your forum renders content. Then, when you click on "Discussions", you should see the kind of page you're expecting.

Vanilla Forums COO [GitHub, Twitter, About.me]