Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

[Solved] Fatal Error in Gdn_Database.Connection();

HLouiseHLouise New
edited April 2014 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hi,
I recently updated my forum and it worked ok and then when I was looking at the database in myphpadmin afterwards I went to the forum and it came up with an error message - details in the image below.

I'm a newbie to all this and have tried to find it out myself - I've downloaded the maintenance mode plugin but can't get it to enable and can't get to the forum dashboard. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• did you modify your config.php - did you change user permissions for database while in phpmyadmin.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• HLouiseHLouise New
    edited April 2014

No didn't modify config.php or change user permissions in phpmyadmin that I know of. On my control panel on the webhost it said something about a password and I think I changed it there - and was then able to log into myphpadmin using the same password - would that affect it as its the only change I made really?

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP

This has happened to me on occasion . You can either wait it out until it is resolved by the host. Or try to fix the password for the database.

I was told by my host that this can happen from too many requests for the page.Sort of a DOS attack that floods the database with requests and it disconnects.