Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

FileUploads not creating thumbnails or thumbnail directory

Hi all, I'm having the a similar problem and so far nothing I've done has solved it.

I'm totally new to Vanilla and I just installed the latest stable version (core 2.1? Sorry, where do I find the exact version?) and I installed the latest FileUploads version (1.5.2) and when I try to upload a file of any type in a discussion, it just hangs. I can see the upload bar, which just says "loading". I've read through the forums and tried everything - or at least everything I was able to try given I'm not a programmer.

The details:

• the plugin does not create the thumbnails folder, either as utility/thumbnails/FileUpload or as uploads/thumbnails/FileUploads so I've created both, giving them 777 permissions. (I know I shouldn't do this but what are the correct permissions? 755?)
  • my theme, Bittersweet, includes a default.master.tpl file which has this line: {asset name="Foot"} which I understand has caused issues for others
  • I've reverted to the basic theme and disabled all plugins, and it still doesn't work
  • I've tried txt files and pdfs
  • I tried changing the config file so that RewriteUrls = FALSE but that didn't seem to work
  • the files themselves are being uploaded to the server - the plugin creates the: vanilla/uploads/FileUpload/subfolder and I can see the files there.
  • I'm not getting the Bonk screen
  • in the settings for the plugin, File uploads is ON
  • in the settings it says: Realtime progress bars: unavailable
  • In Roles and Permissions I have enabled attachment upload
  • I am able to upload avatars