Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Need help installing Vanilla2rc2 - database error unknown system variable 'names'

phdphd
edited June 2010 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
Hello,

I am a newbie, so I am probably making an obvious mistake... I am unable to install Vanilla2 rc2. I got a "An error occurred while attempting to connect to the database|Gdn_Database|Connection|SQLSTATE[00000] [1193] Unknown system variable 'names'" error in the installer, and was unable to solve it. I found no post about that here, so I am utterly lost. Any help will be warmly welcomed.

I checked permissions, I erased and re-uploaded all files, to no avail.

(While testing, I installed Vanilla (Vanilla 1) without problem, so I have a working forum for the time being.)

TIA

Comments

• Can't anybody help me ?

I found nothing about this on github issues. Requirements are met as far as I can tell... that is: not very far, but I suppose that Vanilla would complain more loudly if something was missing (total garbage, function unknown, ...). I have no idea of what to check next.
  • you need to delete all gdn_ tables in your DB via phpmyadmin, and reinstall
  • No luck, no gdn_ tables was ever created, fails even with a completely empty database. Thanks anyway.
  • lukoielukoie New
    edited June 2010
    do you have MYSQL database?
    did you entered correct DB host, DB name, username and password while installing Vanilla2?
  • phdphd
    edited June 2010
    I guess so. The same settings work perfectly well with phpBB (deleted), punBB (removed), Vanilla 1 (kept, yeah).