Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Adding user accounts?

edited August 2010 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
Hi guys, I'm a newb so feel free to slap me around. I've looked for documentation but haven't found any on the basic operation of the site. I have found lots of docs on classes and functions. Maybe I'm looking in the wrong place? Anyway long story to say, I can't add users through the Dashboard. I fill in all the info requested in the Add User dialog, click Administrator or Member role, the dialog box goes away, but no user is created. Checked in the DB, and there is definitely not a user created. Am I missing something?

Thanks for any help.

G
Tagged:

Comments

• Adding that it seems that I cannot add messages either... I was able to add a user via the registration process, then change the user's role to admin. Maybe my dashboard is broken somehow?

G
  • So is this a piece of the puzzle? Both the add user and add message dialog boxes are ajax (at least I think they are). They are the only menus that pop over the previous settings page, and they both do not work for me. Coincidence... I think not!

G
  • TimTim Operations Vanilla Staff
    Consider giving us a detailed rundown of your environment...
    Server side:
    - OS, webserver, php version, mysql version
    - Exact Vanilla version
    Client side:
    - OS, browser

Vanilla Forums COO [GitHub, Twitter, About.me]

• Hi Tim,

Thanks for the reply. So I can assume that this is not happening with others, good. I have installed from scratch multiple times and have tested from at least 3 different PCs and still have this behavior. Browsers have been firefox 3.5.11 on WinXP, firefox (unknon version) on Ubuntu and old school IE 6 on WinXP. As for server, this is what I can get out of cpanel:

Operating system Linux