Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Import from phpBB3 *AND* Simple:Press?

dudieboydudieboy New
edited March 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
Hi all, first post. I haven't actually installed Vanilla hobbyist version yet, but I've downloaded it and I'm studying up. I want to "upgrade" from Simple:Press currently installed on my site, but I see that it's also possible to import from phpBB3. Over a year ago I closed our phpBB3 forum and made my members all sign up for new membership at the Simple:Press forum. So:

1) is it possible to import Simple:Press into Vanilla and THEN import phpBB3 into Vanilla, and show all posts from both forums,
2) is there a way to combine memberships? So for instance my moderator Jayne at Simple:Press can have her current account combined with her old phpBB3 account.

Please understand that I'm trying to ask all the dumb questions I can before I dive off a cliff and accidentally break my site. ;)

Comments

• These are good questions, but you have a problem, Unless the forum id's post id's etc from PHPBB3 and SimplePress get new numbers while importing into Vanilla

In PHPBB3 you'll have a forum discussion under ID number 13, but you could also have one under SimplePress, which discussion will then end up in vanilla?
    If you have imported discussions from PHPBB3 to SimplePress, then those discussions are in both places, what would you like to do with them?

These are all interesting questions. Let's see if you can use the porter plugin to import both forums in (hopefully) separate installs of vanilla:
    http://www.vanillaforums.org/addon/porter-core

It's not a final solution, but let's see if that works, for starters.

There was an error rendering this rich post.