Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Ball park figures on Bandwith/hosting costs for a site like... Lussumo...

sprockettsprockett New
edited February 2006 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hi, does anyone here have first hand experience how much it would cost a for hosting/bandwidth for a site like lussumo? Fairly active forums/blog. Also, if i were to drop adwords/adsense in, would I be able to cover costs? Im a total newbie when it comes to gauging whether a site could be self sufficient... Thanks!

Comments

• I haven't heard that any site would be self sufficient without a visitor amount in the tens of thousands, and then the cost of bandwith comes ot consideration. It would all boil down to the hosting costs of the site. Like my site is running on a host that bills 72€ a year for the site, database and domain. So If I got good visitor amounts, I might be able to cover some costs, but having the danger of going over my monthly bandwith and having to pay my for the extra.
  • Do you know how much bandwidth/database usage you'll be needing? There are some forums out there dedicated solely to web hosting (sad i know). If you give them the amount of space/bandwidth/database usage- they can give you the best host for you.
  • I use streamline.net

I reckon they're a good deal. Not had any major problems so far. Anything I have had a problem with their tech support has been pretty damn good. Read through all the details of what you can and can't do though.

That said, their knowledge base says they don't support .htaccess but they now seem to do that. I'm happy :)
  • lechlech Chicagoland