Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

[Solved] Display one category on home page of site (forum installed elsewhere)

edited November 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
Hi

I'm new to vanilla and am trying to decide the best way to display news on the home page of our website. It is in the process of being set up at the moment and, as it's a voluntary organisation for those with limited mobility, I'm trying to keep it as simple as possible.

We will have the vanilla forum installed at http://example.com/forum

I would like to use one category as 'news' and display this on our homepage http://example.com

Could embed vanilla be used to display a single category in this manner,? Or would this work better as an RSS feed (you guessed it, I don't know how RSS works - yet - but I will soon!!)?

Also, does anyone know how well embed vanilla works with screen readers for those with limited vision? Some of our members use these and I'm not sure that embededded items work for them.

Sorry if this is a really lame question - any help would be most appreciated :)

Answers

• sahotataransahotataran Developer, Bay Area - CA ✭✭✭
    on your dashboard go to HOMEPAGE
    and add the homepage link as categories/news
    or in place of news you can display the category you want to display

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• No... that's not what I meant. I meant the homepage for my entire site - not just the homepage for the forum.

I want to be able to feed the 'news' category to the main page of my site. Can I do that with embed vanilla, and show only 'the news' category? Has anyone done this sucessfully?
  • you can use .htaccess to do that or

the feed is at
    categories/news/feed.rss

you can use the api like so
    categories/news.json
    categories/news.xml

grep is your friend.