Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Home Entertainment network based on WP + Vanilla = how?

Greetings, everyone.

I'm a journalist building a Home Entertainment publication project (if you are familiar with games, we're modeling it after IGN/Gamespot). After trying a full IPS solution, we are switching to Wordpress since it's a much more popular CMS amongst developers/designers and we've been impressed by Vanilla forum solution, which also seems quite easy to integrate via the official plugin.

However, I still have lots of questions. I love the idea of a network integrate at the fullest level (that's why I tried the full IPS route), and I'd like to leverage things like Vanilla's gamification to the website as well - badges, achievements, ranks, linked to products rating/reviews/collections etc.
I'm not sure if I need more of a WP developer or Vanilla developer to do this, though. I've spoken with a couple of WP developers but they don't have a lot of experience with Vanilla. I'll need some heavy WP customization, but likely some decent Vanilla customization as well, and I'm not too keen in dividing this between two different coders - what would you do? What if I chose a company which is both capable in WP and Vanilla, like this one? tmprod.com/index.php

I'd prefer to deal with the developer directly, though. Is there anyone in this community with enough WP+Vanilla knowledge to do it?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• I did a pretty extensive custom project with the IPS suite. While the overall concept of the suite is nice, it fails in the details. Too bloated with too many bad design decisions. I could go on all day about that but I'll spare you :)

A couple things you should know: