HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

DB cleanup on comment deletion?

Thanks for this add-on. It's very close to my needs, and I've been adapting it for an unlaunched site. In so doing I have noticed that when a kudo'd comment is deleted, the kudos data doesn't get cleaned up. So, caveat emptor. Could become needlessly cluttered on an active database (especially if you are deleting for n # of hates).

I assume this could be handled with an event handler following comment deletion. I will post a fix if I can get one together, but anyone's advice is welcome in the meantime--I'm new to Vanilla. Thanks again!

PS - The Voting plugin looks to behave the same way, or else I didn't see it when I nosed through the code.

Comments

• Options
    hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Welcome to the community!

You want to hook into the comment and discussion models and delete any attached kudos. Something like below should get you started:

public function CommentModel_DeleteComment_Handler($Sender) {
      $CommentID = $Sender->EventArguments['CommentID'];
      $Sender->SQL->Delete('Kudos', array('CommentID' => $CommentID));
    }

public function DiscussionModel_DeleteDiscussion_Handler($Sender) {
      $DiscussionID = $Sender->EventArguments['DiscussionID'];
      $Sender->SQL->Delete('Kudos', array('DiscussionID' => $DiscussionID));
    }

This is completely untested, but it should work.

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.

Click on insightful, awesome, and funny reactions to thank community volunteers for their valuable posts.

• Options

Thanks a lot, hgtonight, I'll give that a shot. I had gotten as far as trying DiscussionModel_Delete_Handler but that wasn't working.