Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How do I set security for uploaded files?

rbrahmsonrbrahmson "You may say I'm a dreamer / But I'm not the only one"NY ✭✭✭

We want to allow users to upload files but want the files accessible only to users in the same category (we use category permissions ). That works fine for the discussions but once people figure out where the attachments folder is, anyone can go there and see everything.

Any suggestions, solutions?

Comments

• BleistivtBleistivt Moderator

.htaccess:

Options -Indexes

• rbrahmsonrbrahmson "You may say I'm a dreamer / But I'm not the only one" NY ✭✭✭

Newbie here, please elaborate. Hope this won't break ability of permitted members to upload/download files.

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

Searching the internet for htaccess options indexes brings up informative links like that: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/15837822/what-is-the-htaccess-options-indexes-for

If your users aren't able to browse the directory, they will not be able to see what is in the upload folder.

While I would guess that this is good enough, your users would be able to download things with brute force.

• rbrahmsonrbrahmson "You may say I'm a dreamer / But I'm not the only one" NY ✭✭✭

Thanks @R_J, I found out that I can set security per folders, so in theory I can control who has access to the download folder. My problem is coordinating it with Vanilla -- namely how to set it so it won't break anything.

The requirements are "simple":
    1. Users should be able to upload files (no brute force - my users aren't sophisticated).
    2. Users should be able to download files (again,no brute force)