Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Feed Discussions 1.2.1

Hi I cannot seem to get this plugin to import anything from my rss-feed of choice. A Wordpress feed that seems to be working in other importers such as Outlook etc. Any ideas of what can be wrong?

Tagged:

Comments

• Update, seems like it could be a Wordpress rss-related thing cause I entered another feed too which is actually posting. But now when trying to add an additional one I cannot chose any of the categories. Probably cause I tried to change the layout of the forum but now I don't know why. Am a complete beginner using Vanilla :(

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP
    edited November 2016

Please try this plugin and report back if it works better for you

• CaylusCaylus ✭✭
    edited November 2016

Hey Vrijvlinder,

The links to the settings in your plugin point to /dashboard/settings/magpierss, and should point to /plugin/magpierss.

Also, if you log out you can still go to /plugin/magpierss/ and add/remove feeds,because there are no checks for correct authorization.

I think there was a discussion on here earlier about 'SettingsPermission' => 'Garden.Settings.Manage' being misleading and not actually protecting your forum.

It also doesn't work with PHP7 because of a "split" instead of an "explode" in rss_parse.inc.

I think liveQuery was also deprecated in JQuery, so I had to replace that as well for Vanilla version 2.3 compatibility.

Lastly, I had trouble importing wordpress rss feeds with it because of something https/curl related. Now I've replaced that part with File_get_contents it works fine for me.

This is the version I'm currently using (thanks again for providing the basis!), and which works for me.