Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Moving "Start a New Discussion" into my header

edited March 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I'm trying to move the "Start a New Discussion" button into my header. How would I go about doing this? I'm extremely new to all of this, so explaining in as much detail as possible would be very much appreciated. I don't want to use the "Start a New Discussion" button either; I simply want to add text to my header, something like "New Post" and have this perform the same function as the "Start a New Discussion" button would.

Thanks!

Best Answer

• 422422 Developer MVP
    edited March 2012 Answer ✓

You dont move it physically, you move it using css. But beware you will need to use absolute positioning.

If you set frame to position:relative

You should be able to absolte position start new discussion button. To do so right click the button, and use firebug. Find out the class controlling the button, and in your custom css...

.somebuttonclass {
    position:absolute;
    top:0px;
    right:0px;
    }

eg:

a.BigButton {
        display: block;
        font-size: 14px;
        height: auto;
        position: absolute;
        right: 0;
        top: 0;
    }

There was an error rendering this rich post.

Answers

• 422422 Developer MVP
    edited March 2012 Answer ✓

You dont move it physically, you move it using css. But beware you will need to use absolute positioning.

If you set frame to position:relative

You should be able to absolte position start new discussion button. To do so right click the button, and use firebug. Find out the class controlling the button, and in your custom css...

.somebuttonclass {
    position:absolute;
    top:0px;
    right:0px;
    }

eg:

a.BigButton {
    }