Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

[Documentation] Guidance needed on reading from an External Database within a plugin.

peregrineperegrine MVP
edited March 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I am developing a plugin that reads data from an External database.

I have been able to do an external database read by modifying a plugin and using the PDO prepare fetch and execute statements outside of the extends plugin class but still residing in the plugin.

The only solution I have found is setting the variables outside of the class and putting the functions outside of the class (and I suspect this not the correct way to do things).

However, since I am a novice at oop and vanilla, when I try to put it inside extends plugin class I get a PDO error (if I remember correctly it said can't find PDO).

Can someone guide me through an example, give me a few tips, or point me to a plugin where I can achieve using PDO statement to an External Database (not vanilla) to execute some prepare, execute and fetch commands).

Thanks for any assistance on this.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

Tagged:

Best Answers

• ToddTodd Chief Product Officer Vanilla Staff
    Answer ✓

I'm a little perplexed by this problem. If you can find PDO outside of Vanilla then you should be able to find it inside of it.

If you want to use Vanilla, but query an external database in a free form way you can also try the following.

// I'm going to assume you are on the same server as Vanilla.
    $Db = new Gdn_Database(array('Dbname' => 'Database Name'));
    $Data = $Db->Query('select * from something')->ResultArray();
    var_dump($Data);

Answer ✓

Okay here's the code in Vanilla: