Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Allowing users to change their usernames?

Hi,

Is there anyway to let users change their usernames? As an admin I can do it fine, but the members can't

I found this over on the hosted side, but doesn't help for those of us with our own forums unfortunately - http://vanillaforums.com/discussion/1289/is-there-an-option-that-will-allow-users-to-edit-their-user-name

Comments

• LincLinc Detroit Admin

In the config.php, set Garden.Profile.EditUsernames = TRUE.

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP

@Lincoln While on the subject of user names, can a user name be deleted and reused? I know wordpress does not allow it and most boards do not either for obvious reasons..
    I have not tried to erase a user name and reuse it, but some people have and claim they get a "User name taken"

• peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited December 2012

@vrijvlinder said:
    Lincoln While on the subject of user names, can a user name be deleted and reused? I know wordpress does not allow it and most boards do not either for obvious reasons..
    I have not tried to erase a user name and reuse it, but some people have and claim they get a "User name taken"

a valid question, but on the other hand...

lol - how long would it take you to create a user "testing1" , post a few discussions, delete testing1 and register the "testing1" user again and see what happens.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

Good idea, I will try that , but what I meant was, Is there a core configuration within the Vanilla application which blocks people from choosing used names automatically ?