Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Migration from phpBB

Hi folks,

I am an absolute newbie to Vanilla. I am considering migrating a large board from phpBB, as development on phpBB appears to have stalled, and it is beginning to smell of mothballs.

I have installed Vanilla 2.2 on a development machine and migrated the database with remarkably few problems (well done whoever wrote the porter). At first glance, I love the administration dashboard and the intuitive UI. It has pretty well all I need out of the box, but I have a couple of questions before I can make a final decision.

• Does anyone know of a way of scripting a converter for internal links to other posts on the same forum after these have been imported from phpBB. From an initial look, they do not seem to have been converted, but I expect that I could customize the porter script to do the job if necessary. But if anyone has solved this already, it would be great.
  • We have a number of visually impaired users, not least of all myself as admin. Captchas are a nightmare. I have huge problems with visual Captchas, but I simply cannot solve the audio ones at all. phpBB allowed a Q&A authentication method which massively reduced spambot registrations on our forum. Is there an AddOn that does something similar? I don't really want to go down the path of Administrator confirmation, as we have had anything up to several hundred spambot registration attempts per day in the past.
  • Is there an AddOn to allow guests and registered users to select their own theme? This is very important to allow visually impaired users to choose a highly accessible, high-contrast theme, while leaving the default theme in situ for most users.