Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Vote It

edited November 2006 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I am totally new to PHP, but have been actively hosting or creating blogs and HTML based websites for the past 2 to 3 years.

Besides having a few requests (which I'll start a discussion separately for each), how would one create a "vote-it-to-the-front-page" extension or add-on similiar to Digg.com? For those unfamiliar with Digg, users are contiually submitting news and information and other users can vote "yay" or "nay" for the posting. Those postings that reach the minumum threshold limit and a beat-out all the other posts make it to the frontpage.

I am looking for something like this, where the admin can control the number of top-voted discussions to appear on the mainpage that loads when you go to the forum. As well, the admin would have to be able to set the threshold (i.e. when you have 15 votes you get thrown in the pool to make it on the frontpage).

I think this method of displaying top discussions would be powerful and make the site more interactive.

Does anyone out think they can help a beginner or even program an extension to meet these requirements?

Thank you in advance for any help.

Comments

• Options
    mm sounds good, maybe they could be shown where the notices go or something?
  • Options
    lechlech Chicagoland
    This would probably be the companion to the sink extension in the form of an anti-sink extension. Not sure how you would go about creating it but it sounds interesting for an extension idea either way. The only issue you would need to consider is that it shouldn't really disrupt the way the forum on the whole displays discussions at all.
  • Options
    would the poll extension be a good starting point?
  • Options